Malden Public Library

I Want To...
Malden Public Library
  • Home|
  • Catalog|
  • Renew Online|
  • About the Library|
  • Services|
  • Research|
  • Events|
  • Children|
  • Teens
Malden Public Library
36 Salem St.
Malden, MA, 02148
(781) 324-0218
Research
  • Research Home
  • Online Article Databases
  • Mass Answers
  • Internet Sites
  • Local History
  • Malden Information

New Databases

Use your Malden Public Library card to access these databases at the library or wherever you have internet access!

Provided by: Malden Public Library
Auto Repair Reference Center Contains information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1945.
Home Improvement Center Online tool (full text reference works and illustrative images) for home improvement assistance, including: maintenance, remodeling, electrical work, plumbing, wood projects, outdoor improvements, decorating home & garden, etc.
Magill's Medical Guide In library use only. Covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, etc. in more than 1,000 essays with over 400 photographs and drawings.
Value Line Research Center
In library use only. Data and performance analysis of stocks, mutual funds, options and other securities.


Online Article Databases

You can access thousands of magazine, newspaper, and journal articles right from your computer. Using these databases, you can find citations for articles and often the full-text of the article. If you need help getting started with searching online databases, please ask a librarian.

In Library Use

Click on the database name below to use the databases in the library .

Remote Access

Malden residents with a Metro Boston Library Network card* may use these databases from home. To start click here.



Provided by: Boston Regional Library System
Academic OneFile Peer-reviewed, full-text articles. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Biography Resource Center + Marquis Who's WhoŽ Biographical information from standard library reference books, Who's Who, and periodical articles.
Contemporary Literary Criticism - Select Biographical and critical essays on contemporary authors and their works.
Educator's Reference Complete Content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.
eLibrary Curriculum Full text and multimedia reference sources.
Expanded Academic ASAP Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images!
Gale Virtual Reference Library Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
General Business File ASAP Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available.
General OneFile News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
General Reference Center Gold A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications.
Health Reference Center Academic Index and articles from health and medical journals, plus medical pamphlets and reference books.
Junior Edition - K12 For students in junior high and middle school with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books .
Kids InfoBits Research tool for Grade K-5 students.
Literary Reference Center Plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews; literary criticism; author biographies; literary journals; book reviews; classic and contemporary poems and short stories; full text some classic novels; author interviews; and images of literary figures.
MAS Ultra - School Edition Full text for popular magazines.Also included: Health Source - Consumer Edition, Newspaper Source, and Professional Development Collection
Massachusetts History Online Contains full-text articles gathered from almost 50 sources that directly relate to MA history.
MasterFILE Premier Full text periodicals, reference books, biographies, and primary source documents.
The New York Times Search the full text of The New York Times (starting in 1995).
Primary Search Full text of elementary school magazines.
Scientific American Archive Online Authoritative source of scientific and technical information.
Student Edition Research tool for high school students.
TOPICsearch Full text articles from diverse sources including international and regional newspapers.
ERIC Full text educational and education-related journals.
Provided by: Boston Public Library, funded with State funds through the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners
Digital Collections With the funding managed by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and provided by the Library Service and Technology Act, a rich of local history collections including manuscript material (personal and organizational papers), photographs, posters, ticket stubs, broadsides, etc. are available here for research.
netLibrary Full-text E-books on business, buying and selling a home, careers, computers, consumer health, consumer law, psychology, self-help, sports, study guides, and travel.
期刊圖書館
Qikan Library (DragonSource)
一 百 種 中 國 大 陸 出 版 的 風 行 期 刊, 展 示 全 部 內 容, 主 題 涉 及 藝 術 、 時 事 、 商 業 、 健 康 、 兒 童 文 學 以 及 其 它 多 種 範 疇, 大 部 份 有 繁 體 字 和 簡 體 字 可 以 選 讀, 訂 閱 日 期 始 自2005--
Access to over 100 full-text popular magazine publications from mainland China. Subjects include the arts, current events, business, health, children's literature and much more. Most titles viewable in both simplified and classical viewing styles. Coverage: 2005-present.

For more electronic resources visit the Boston Public Library. Any resident of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts may get a BPL eCard or full borrowers card.